Nine Inch Nails release surprise EP & definitive versions of 3 albums


Trent Reznor hinted at new NIN material coming this year and now he and Atticus Ross have made good. Dropping December 23rd, just in time for Christmas, Nine Inch Nails will release the Not the Actual Events EP. It is a major departure from both the Hesitation Marks sound and ambient soundtrack contributions. “It’s an unfriendly, fairly impenetrable record that we needed to make,” says Reznor. “It’s an EP because that ended up being the proper length to tell that story.”

It is available in the newly redesigned NIN store in both a single-sided LP or digital download with a physical component. In addition to the new material, NIN has announced definitive vinyl releases of the back catalog. The first three: Broken, The Downward Spiral, and The Fragile are available for pre-order now for a Spring 2017 release. “We want to present the catalog as it was intended to be, with no compromises,” says Reznor. “That means a careful remastering of the audio from the original sources, a painstaking recreation of the artwork, pristine materials, some surprises and an insane attention to detail that you probably won’t notice…but it matters to us. No extra bullshit and gimmicks – the ‘real’ records in their truest form.”

If that wasn’t exciting enough, Trent Reznor has also announced a 4 LP, 39 track, 150 minute Limited Edition reworking entitled The Fragile: Deviations 1. It contains instrumental, alternate takes and unreleased tracks, many of which have never been heard before. And this won’t be available on digital platforms.

Order your copies of these albums by clicking here.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here